Alumni


2018
Mark Drury

  • Program: Anthropology
  • Dissertation: “Disorderly Histories: An Anthropology of Decolonization in Western Sahara”
  • Contact:  drury.mark@gmail.com


Chris Rominger

  • Program: History
  • Dissertation: “Mobility, Colonialism, and Political Horizons: Tunisians around the First World War, 1911-1925”
  • Contact: chrisrominger@gmail.com


2017
Jeffrey Culang

  • Program: History
  • Dissertation: “Liberal Translations: Secular Concepts, Law, and Religion in Colonial Egypt”
  • Contact: jculang@gmail.com
  •  


Paul Fadoul

  • Program: French
  • Dissertation: “How to be a French Jew: Proust, Lazare, Glissant”
  • Contact: tipol@aol.com
  •  


Yunus Doğan Telliel

  • Program: Anthropology
  • Dissertation: “What is the Language of Islam?: Reform, Translation, and Secularism in Turkey”
  • Contact: ydtelliel@gmail.com
  •  


2016

Kutlughan Soyubol

  • Program:History
  • Dissertation: “The Sciences of the Soul: The Emergence of Psy-sciences and the Modern State in Turkey”
  • Contact: ksoyubol@gc.cuny.edu


Secil Yilmaz

  • Program: History
  • Dissertation: “Love in the Time of Syphilis: Medicine and Sex in the Ottoman Empire, 1860-1922”
  • Contact: secil.yilmaz@gmail.com


Rayya El Zein

  • Program: Theatre
  • Dissertation: “Performing el Rap el ʿArabi 2005-2015: Feeling Politics amid Neoliberal Incursions in Ramallah, Amman, and Beirut”
  • Contact: rayyaelz@gmail.com


2015
Emily Cury

  • Program: Political Science
  • Dissertation: “Policy Advocacy and the Performance of Muslim American Identity Contact”
  • Contact: ecury@gc.cuny.edu


Kareem Rabie

  • Program: Anthropology
  • Dissertation: “Palestine is Throwing a Party and the Whole World is Invited: Privatization and State Building in the Contemporary West Bank”
  • Contact:  kareem.rabie@compas.ox.ac.uk


Ana Vinea

  • Program: Anthropology
  • Dissertation: “Contemporary Egyptian Therapeutic Landscapes Between Qur’anic Healing and Psychiatry”
  • Contact: avinea@gradcenter.cuny.edu


2014
Ozan Aksoy

  • Program: Ethnomusicology
  • Dissertation: “The Music and Multiple Identities of Kurdish Alevis from Turkey in Germany”
  • Contact: ozanaksoy@gmail.com

2013
Kinan Azmeh

  • Program: Music
  • Dissertation: “Arab Music Vocabulary in Syrian Contemporary Clarinet Chamber Works”
  • Contact:kinanazmeh@yahoo.com


Ceren Ozgul

  • Program: Anthropology
  • Dissertation: “From Muslim Citizen to Christian Minority: Tolerance, Secularism, and Armenian Return Conversions in Turkey”
  • Contact: ceren.ozgul@gmail.com
  •  


2012

Aida Izadpanah Jahromi

  • Program: Psychology
  • Dissertation: “An Analysis of Multi-Media Representations of Children’s Experience of War by Humanitarian Organizations”
  • Contact: aidaizadpanah@yahoo.com
  •  
  •  


Katherine Wilson

  • Program: Theatre
  • Dissertation: “The Social Lives of Playscripts: Nick of the Woods from Inkwell to Internet”
  • Contact: katecwilson@yahoo.com
  •  
  •  
  •  


Raja Abillama

  • Program: Anthropology
  • Dissertation: “The Marital State: Personal Status Laws, Discourses of Reform and Secularity in Lebanon”
  • Contact: arabillama@gmail.com
  •  


Nada Moumtaz

  • Program: Anthropology
  • Dissertation: “Modernizing Charity, Remaking Islamic Law”
  • Contact: moumtaz.1@osu.edu
  •  


Mitra Rastegar

  • Program: Sociology
  • Dissertation: “Articulated Values, Affecting Figures: Liberal Tolerance and the Racialization of Muslims/Arabs”
  • Contact: Mitraellen@gmail.com
  •  


Shea McManus

  • Program: Anthropology
  • Dissertation: “The Politics of Transition: Time, History and Justice in Postwar Lebanon”
  • Contact: Shea_Mcmanus@ncsu.edu
  •  


Sara Pursley

  • Program: History
  • Dissertation: “A Race Against Time: Governing Femininity and Reproducing the Future in Revolutionary Iraq, 1945-63”
  • Contact: spursley@nyu.edu
  •  

2010
Mehmet Kucukozer

  • Program: Sociology
  • Dissertation: “Peasant Rebellions in the Age of Globalization: The EZLN in Mexico and the PKK in Turkey”
  • Contact: mkucukozer@hotmail.com
  •  


Cemal Yetkiner

  • Program: History
  • Dissertation: “American Missionaries, Armenian Community, and the Making of Proantism in the Ottoman Empire, 1820-1860”
  • Contact: yetkinercemal@hotmail.com
  •  


Aleksandra Majstorac-Kobiljski

  • Program: History
  • Dissertation: “Learning to Be Modern: American Missionary Colleges in Beirut and Kyoto 1860-1920”
  • Contact: aleksandra.kobiljski@ehess.fr
  •  


2009
Reina Arakji

  • Program: Busines
  • Dissertation: “Designing Social Production Models for Producer-Consumer Collaboration and Innovation in Digital Social Spaces”
  • Contact: arakjir@newschool.edu
  •  


Dalia Basiouny

  • Program: Theatre
  • Dissertation: “The Powerful Voice of Women Dramatists in the Arab American Theatre”
  • Contact: Daliadr@gmail.com
  •  


Christine Hegel-Cantarella

  • Program: Anthropology
  • Dissertation: “Breach of Trust: Customary/Commercial Documents and Practices of Private Law in an Egyptian Port”
  • Contact: Christinehegel@gmail.com


Mayida Zaal

  • Program: Urban Education
  • Dissertation: “Neglected in their Transitions: Second Generation Muslim Youth Search for Support in a Context of Islamaphobia”
  • Contact: zaalm@mail.montclair.edu


2008
Zeynep Turan

Program: Environmental Psychology

Dissertation: “Object of Legacy: Material Objects of Displaced People”

Contact: zeynept7@gmail.com

2007
Alessandra Maria Ciucci

  • Program: Music
  • Dissertation: “Songs of Honor, Voices of Shame: The Aita and the Moroccan Shikhat”
  • Contact: amc25@columbia.edu