Alumni

 

Year of Graduation: 2017

Name: Jeffrey Culang
Program: History
Dissertation: Liberal Translations: Secular Concepts, Law, and Religion in Colonial Egypt
Contact: jculang@gmail.com
Name: Paul Fadoul
Program: French
Dissertation: How to be a French Jew: Proust, Lazare, Glissant
Contact: tipol@aol.com

Year of Graduation: 2016

ksoyubol Name: Kutlughan Soyubol
Program: History
Dissertation: The Sciences of the Soul: The Emergence of Psy-sciences and the Modern State in Turkey
Contact: ksoyubol@gc.cuny.edu
IMG_6639 Name: Secil Yilmaz
Program: History
Dissertation: Love in the Time of Syphilis: Medicine and Sex in the Ottoman Empire, 1860-1922
Contact: secil.yilmaz@gmail.com
Rayya El Zein Name: Rayya El Zein
Program: Theatre
Dissertation: Performing el Rap el ĘżArabi 2005-2015: Feeling Politics amid Neoliberal Incursions in Ramallah, Amman, and Beirut
Contact: rayyaelz@gmail.com and see http://about.me/rayelz

Year of Graduation: 2015

Emily Cury_photo Name: Emily Cury
Program: Political Science
Dissertation: Policy Advocacy and the Performance of Muslim American Identity Contact
Contact: ecury@gc.cuny.edu
Kareem Rabie Name: Kareem Rabie
Program: Anthropology
Dissertation: Palestine is Throwing a Party and the Whole World is Invited: Privatization and State Building in the Contemporary West Bank
Contact: kareem.rabie@compas.ox.ac.uk
DSC01433_2 Name: Ana Vinea
Program: Anthropology
Dissertation: Contemporary Egyptian Therapeutic Landscapes Between Qur’anic Healing and Psychiatry
Contact: avinea@gradcenter.cuny.edu

 

Year of Graduation: 2014

Name: Ozan Aksoy
Program: Ethnomusicology
Dissertation: The Music and Multiple Identities of Kurdish Alevis from Turkey in Germany
Contact: ozanaksoy@gmail.com

 

Year of Graduation: 2013

Name: Kinan Azmeh
Program:Music
Dissertation: Arab Music Vocabulary in Syrian Contemporary Clarinet Chamber Works
Contact: kinanazmeh@yahoo.com | Website
image Name: Ceren Ozgul
Program:Anthropology
Dissertation: From Muslim Citizen to Christian Minority: Tolerance, Secularism, and Armenian Return Conversions in Turkey
Contact: ceren.ozgul@gmail.com

 

Year of Graduation: 2012

 

AIDA Name: Aida Izadpanah Jahromi
Program: Psychology
Dissertation: An Analysis of Multi-Media Representations of Children’s Experience of War by Humanitarian Organizations
Website: http://www.aidaizadpanah.com/
Contact: aidaizadpanah@yahoo.com

Mitra_and_Kate Name: Katherine Wilson
Program: Theatre
Dissertation: The Social Lives of Playscripts: Nick of the Woods from Inkwell to Internet
Contact: katecwilson@yahoo.com

photo_raja Name: Raja Abillama
Program: Anthropology
Dissertation: The Marital State: Personal Status Laws, Discourses of Reform and Secularity in Lebanon
Contact: arabillama[at]gmail.com

nada_Moumtaz_2011 Name: Nada Moumtaz
Dissertation: Modernizing Charity, Remaking Islamic Law.
Program: Anthropology
Contact : moumtaz.1@osu.edu

05_Mitra_Rastegar_headshot Name : Mitra Rastegar
Dissertation: Articulated Values, Affecting Figures: Liberal Tolerance and the Racialization of Muslims/Arabs
Program: Sociology
Contact : Mitraellen@gmail.com

sheamcmanus-may11---resize Name: Shea McManus
Program: Anthropology
Dissertation: The Politics of Transition: Time, History and Justice in Postwar Lebanon
Contact : Shea_Mcmanus@ncsu.edu

Sara_Pursley_june_12 Name: Sara Pursley
Program: History
Dissertation title: “A Race Against Time: Governing Femininity and Reproducing the Future in Revolutionary Iraq, 1945-63.”
Contact: spursley@princeton.edu

 

Year of Graduation: 2010

mehmet Name: Mehmet Kucukozer
Program: Sociology
Dissertation Title: Peasant Rebellions in the Age of Globalization: The EZLN in Mexico and the PKK in Turkey
Contact: mkucukozer@hotmail.com

cemal-e1372184404974 Name: Cemal Yetkiner
Program: History
Dissertation Title: American Missionaries, Armenian Community, and the Making of Protestantism in the Ottoman Empire, 1820-1860
Contact: yetkinercemal@hotmail.com

kobiljski Name: Aleksandra Majstorac-Kobiljski
Program: History
Dissertation Title: Learning to Be Modern: American Missionary Colleges in Beirut and Kyoto 1860-1920
Contact: aleksandra.kobiljski@ehess.fr

 

Year of Graduation: 2009

Name: Reina Arakji
Program: Business
Dissertation Title: Designing Social Production Models for Producer-Consumer Collaboration and Innovation in Digital Social Spaces
Contact: arakjir@newschool.edu

Name: Dalia Basiouny
Program: Theatre
Dissertation Title : The Powerful Voice of Women Dramatists in the Arab American Theatre
Contact: Daliadr@gmail.com

Name: Christine Hegel-Cantarella
Program: Anthropology
Dissertation Title: Breach of Trust: Customary/Commercial Documents and Practices of Private Law in an Egyptian Port
Contact: Christinehegel@gmail.com

Name: Mayida Zaal
Program: Urban Education
Dissertation Title: Neglected in their Transitions: Second Generation Muslim Youth Search for Support in a Context of Islamaphobia
Contact : zaalm@mail.montclair.edu

 

Year of Graduation: 2008

Name: Zeynep Turan
Program: Environmental Psychology
Dissertation Title : Object of Legacy: Material Objects of Displaced People
Contact : zeynept7@gmail.com

 

Year of Graduation: 2007

Name: Alessandra Maria Ciucci
Program: Music
Dissertation Title : Songs of Honor, Voices of Shame: The Aita and the Moroccan Shikhat
Contact :amc25@columbia.edu